Fort Steilacoom was the first U.S. Army post on Puget Sound. It was established in 1849 and was closed in 1868. The name is from Steilacoom. Four buildings from the fort have been restored. For much of the time during its operating years it was the center of U.S. Military activity in western Washington.
The Western State Hospital with attractive grounds and buildings, occupies the site directly adjacent old Fort Steilacoom buildings. .
Western State Hospital is one of two state-owned psychiatric hospitals for adults. Public access to the hospital grounds is restricted, but the park across the road provides multiple trails to explore the history and development of the site, in particular its agricultural history.
On the hospital grounds are four residences constructed for the officers of Fort Steilacoom between 1855 and 1858. One was occupied by General Philip E. Sheridan, Civil War hero.