Search

Search for a tour by category:

Search site:

Barnes Point

Barnes Point is northeast of the mouth of Barnes Creek which empties into the south side of Lake Crescent. It was named for the Barnes family who settled nearby. The bulk of Mount Storm King rises to the south with the peaks of Lizard Head, Aurora, and Sourdough to the south and west.

Points of Interest Points of Interest icon

Rosemary Inn

Rosemary Inn Historic District, built in the 1910s, is located in a grassy meadow cleared out of a dense forest, on Barnes Point. The inn was built on one of the earliest settled tracts of land along the lake. The complex consists of a main lodge, a manager’s residence, 12 guest cabins, and assorted outbuildings and appurtenant features. Two of the buildings are of log construction, while the remaining are wood-frame construction. Each of the buildings is unique in its design. A variety of sheathing materials are used on the exterior walls, including horizontal clapboards, vertical board and batten, wood shingles, cedar bark, and stucco. Most of the buildings are sited around the edge of the open meadow on the south shore of Lake Crescent, with the main lodge sited on the south end, forming a “U” shaped cluster. Small scale and landscape features exist throughout the complex including 2 stone and mortar fountains; a sundial, a 27′ high metal windmill; and remnant features.

Storm King Ranger Station

Storm King Ranger Station is a rectangular, 1-1/2 story, log building with a wood-shingled gable roof set on a concrete foundation. The building is located off the north side of Highway 101 at Barnes Point, overlooking Lake Crescent. The building is in good condition; it was reconstructed when it was relocated in 1984 after a tractor loader hit the structure causing damage in 1979. This building appears much the same as it did after its construction circa 1905 by the United States Forest Service for USFS Ranger Chris Morgenroth.

Mount Storm King

The name chosen is descriptive, as storm clouds are prevalent around its summit. It was at Mount Storm King on January 1, 1925 that the United States Forest Service released four mountain goats from Canada’s Selkirk Mountains which created “…a unique ecological problem since the animals eventually made havoc on sub alpine meadows…”

Singer’s Lake Crescent Tavern

Singer’s Lake Crescent Tavern Historic District is a resort ensemble comprised of two wood-frame, shingle-clad buildings. Situated only a few yards from the shore ‘of Lake Crescent on a partially shaded, grassy slope, the main lodge is the primary focal point in terms of size, scale, design, siting, and social history. Three modest guest cabins, as well as the main lodge, exhibit design features characteristic of the Bungalow style of architecture and are the contributing buildings of the historic district. Begun in 1914, Singer’s Lake Crescent Tavern is the only operating resort on Lake Crescent that retains its original character with shingle siding, multi-paned windows, wood interiors, sensitive landscaping, and overall spatial organization. Although some of the original cabins have been removed from the complex due to their deteriorated condition and replaced with cabins of similar design, materials, scale, and workmanship, the complex continues to exhibit a strong sense of the past in the overall arrangement of the buildings to each other and to the site. The lodge and surrounding cabins have provided a respite to explorers of Olympic National Park for nearly 100 years.