Built by the Lovejoy Brothers in 1895 who were shipwrights in Coupeville. The barn is unique on the island for its slanted, hip style roof line. All of the timbers feature mortise and tenon joinery, pegged with wood dowels.
The adjacent Crockett Blockhouse, one of two built on the site in 1855, was restored by the Work Projects Administration in 1938. The other Crockett blockhouse was sold to Ezra Meeker, for the entrance to his restaurant at the Alaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition at Seattle in 1909, and was later moved to Point Defiance Park, Tacoma.