Search

Cultural History Pages:

Search for a tour by category:

Search site:

Pleasant Beach

A summer resort at the south end of the island, spread around a picturesque semicircular bay. In a brick block are stores and a rakish theater building, known today as Lynwood Center, and which has a new marquee. A previous name was Sylvan Grove, and it was first settled by Asa Fowler who had a land claim dated January 30, 1864.